Professors

Mario Biagioli

Distinguished Professor

I am a scholar of science and technology studies, as well as history and philosophy of intellectual property.

Contact Information

Email: biagioli@ucla.edu

Greg Bryant

Professor and Vice Chair

I am a cognitive scientist interested in the evolution of vocal communication and social behavior.

Contact Information

Email: gabryant@ucla.edu
Office: 2331 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-825-5984

Steven Clayman

Professor

I am a conversation analyst with an interest in fundamental structures of human interaction, as well as more specialized interactions implicated in journalism and political communication.

Contact Information

Email: clayman@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 264 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-2090

Rick Dale

Professor

I am a cognitive scientist interested in the dynamics of cognition and communication. I study how people dynamically structure their communication in order to develop and test theories of language and interaction.

Contact Information

Email: rdale@ucla.edu
Office: 2316 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-794-7193

Tao Gao

Assistant Professor

I am a cognitive scientist investigating how to infer intention, belief, and desire from human actions.

Contact Information

Email: tao.gao@stat.ucla.edu
Office: MS 8917
Phone: 310-825-8497

Tim Groeling

Professor

I am a scholar of political communication, and am particularly interested in partisan news and the impact of new technologies on communication.

Contact Information

Email: groeling@comm.ucla.edu
Office: 2322 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-267-4646

Martie Haselton

Professor

I am an interdisciplinary evolutionary scientist who studies how evolution has shaped the social mind.

Contact Information

Email: haselton@ucla.edu
Office: 2325 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-206-7445

Kerri Johnson

Professor and Chair

I am a social psychologist interested in how cues in the face and body communicate social identities to observers.

Contact Information

Email: kerri.johnson@ucla.edu
Office: 2330 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-825-4199

Jungseock Joo

Assistant Professor

I study multimodal communication in mass media by computational methods.

Contact Information

Email: jjoo@comm.ucla.edu
Office: 2318 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-206-3740

Georgia Kernell

Assistant Professor

My research examines political communication, party strategy, voter behavior, and electoral competition both in the U.S. and in advanced parliamentary democracies.

Contact Information

Email: gkernell@ucla.edu
Office: 2323 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-206-9404

PJ Lamberson

Associate Professor

I am a mathematical and computational modeler interested in social networks, social influence, and collective intelligence.

Contact Information

Email: lamberson@ucla.edu
Office: 2321 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-794-4179

Francis Steen

Associate Professor

I research how people use the multimodal information in mass media to form complex and integrated models of reality, using language, images, gesture, and emotion.

Contact Information

Email: steen@commstds.ucla.edu
Office: 2328 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-825-3147

I am a social cognitive scientist who studies how social categories are used to think about both humans and non-humans, including basic shapes, voices, and robots.

Contact Information

Email: ss233@ucla.edu

Lynn Vavreck

Professor

I study campaigns and elections with an emphasis on messaging and strategy.

Contact Information

Email: lvavreck@polisci.ucla.edu
Office: 4289 Bunche Hall
Phone: 310-825-4331

Anne Warlaumont

Associate Professor

I am a cognitive scientist interested in the early development and evolution of human vocal signals.

Contact Information

Email: warlaumont@ucla.edu
Office: 2319 Rolfe Hall
Phone: 310-794-9243